Mixed Race

When I come to you and tell you that hey, I am mixed race, these are the problems I face because of it, do not laugh at me. Do not laugh at me. My reality is different than yours. It does not mean it is not true. Do not laugh at me. When you tell me your struggles of how a black person once a long time ago called you a cracker, I do not laugh at you. But I let you know that things happen to me all the time because I am mixed. I understand that you had pain in that moment when you were discriminated against. But recognize that this happens a lot for me. From family. From friends. From strangers. People treat me differently because of my race. It is a fact. Do not tell me you do not see race. That does not help me. Everyone else sees my race. A lot do it unconsciously. My reality is different than yours. Recognize that. Be more informed. Do not laugh at me. I understand you have other pains. I understand that you grew up poor. I understand that you are a woman and had struggles as well. But recognize that you do not have to one-up me. I am sharing my pain. I am sharing my experience. Do not laugh at me.

Leave a Reply

