Who am I?

Hello!

My name is Natasha! I guess I have never properly introduced myself to my followers. Since I have a lot more than just friends and family following me now, I figured this is the perfect time!

I am a student in my sophomore year at Webster University. I am majoring in photography. You can see some of my images up at natashasykes.com ! Thanks to Webster, I have the fantastic ability to travel abroad to London for about 7-8 months. Also, visiting http://www.gofundme.com/Natashasykes would help me out quite a bit !

I am an avid traveler and have been abroad before to all of the UK, but never for this long!
A lot of my traveling has been done across the US. I have visited 43/50 states, covering about 20 in a road trip I took with my Autistic little brother for a month and a half. Some of the blog posts from that trip are on here, but future blog posts will be all about London and other adventures.

I love cats. I love dogs. I love animals really. I also love selfies, but I will restrict those to Instagram and Facebook πŸ˜‰

If you read this far, thanks for reading! Β Introduce yourself if you’d like in the comments! πŸ™‚

63 Replies to “Who am I?”

  1. Pingback: Who am I?
  2. Hi Natasha. I’m Pixie, nice to meet you. I really like the photo you used for this post. I just know I’m going to enjoy reading along and seeing the photography from your travels. πŸ˜‰

  3. Hey Natasha – Thanks for visiting my site! I have an autistic niece, a love for Papillons after having one for 10 wonderful years, and an anxiety about traveling, or should I say, the planning it involves. I am going to live vicariously through viewing your pictures : )

    1. What are papillions? And what planning?! Haha I do minimal planning for my trips. I grew up in a household where we left on a drop of a dime. Hope you enjoy the pictures and its nice to meet you! πŸ™‚

      1. I will come up with a post for her, for sure – great idea! Roxie sprouted wings about 3 years ago. I miss her so much. If my house had been a little bigger, it would have been added a shepherd mix to the family, work too much, so my season of having a pet passed when Roxie passed.

      2. I’m so sorry 😦 I hope I can get a house big enough to house a whole bunch of animals, not getting too crazy with it though. Maybe I’ll live on a farm πŸ™‚ I know of many people who had that one special pet and just could not replace them. Thank goodness we all know there is a special place in Heaven for dogs πŸ™‚

  4. Hi, Natasha! Thank you for your reply on the OM’s meet and greet page, as well as commenting and following my blog. I’m glad I could write an entry you enjoy.

    You sound like a very interesting person, and I look forward to enjoying your photography and reading about your travels. I wish you luck in your endeavors, and I’ll be visiting more in the future. πŸ™‚

    Have a happy Spring Semester.

  5. A Webster student–awesome! Are you familiar with SIFE? If not, check it out. It’s a seriously super way to network and (assuming your team is good) impress possible employers. I always loved watching the Webster team (I was a judge, years ago).

      1. YES! That’s it– I guess they changed the name. You may want to send an inquiry email to your school team sooner than later; if it’s the same as it used to be, there may be limited spots. I saw your blog on the Meet-and-greet. You seemed persistent, so I thought I’d check it out. πŸ™‚

      2. Okay, I will do that. Thank you so much! I appreciate it. I am a photography major so I really do need all the connections I can get since its so tough out there!

  6. Hi Natasha, thanks for dropping into my site, it’s always nice to see new names pop up, and now that I’ve found my way here, I’m sure I’ll be back to find out what else I’ve been missing (I really like photography, though I look at it better than I take it). I guess we all have our strengths and weaknesses, and just have to be happy with what we were born with. I really like the look of your Blog, so keep it up, and we’ll see you later.

  7. Hiya I’m Poppy and live in the UK. If you get a chance to travel outside of London, pop to Cambridge and go punting along the river. Its such a beautiful city and perfect for an avid photographer like yourself πŸ™‚

      1. Its about an hour by train from Kings Cross Station in London. I hope you have a fab time, looking forward to seeing your time in the UK on your blog πŸ™‚

    1. Oh, Okay I see. So a specific instrument or what type of music? Still continue with it? I always was convinced I was going to go to school for the clarinet and join the Saint Louis Symphony until I found out about photography lol

  8. Nice to meet you Natasha, and thank you for stopping by my own blog – http://sjp.id.au/
    I’m into photography too, but I’ve actually recenrly got back into film photography and old cameras. That’s not to say I don’t still use digital though. Film is definitely fun!

      1. Hey Natasha! Film is great isn’t it? We’d lose something by going all digital I think. So, what digital camera setup do you have at the moment? Digital is quite different in that the sensor is your ‘film’ so to speak. It has a very different character and needs to be treated differently. Though digital sensors are improving, they can’t handle too much contrast. A lot can be pulled out of RAW files of course, but there are limits even on the best sensors. I’m happy to share whatever I know with you, so please keep in touch πŸ™‚ How is your day?

      2. I am using a Nikon D5200 right now with a cheap nikon 50mm lens. I am a student remember so not much more is affordable and the camera was a present lol. I am taking Studio Photography and starting tomorrow so hopefully I will get to know what type of cameras we are allowed to rent from that class. Usually we use Hassleblads at the home campus in Saint Louis but I think they use digital Nikons or Cannons here. I will definitely ask if I have any questions, I appreciate that! My day hasnt yet started as its 4 am in London! Still getting over jetlag I am afraid. How is your day?

      3. The Nikon 5200 is really an excellent mid level DSLR. I used to have the 5100 and it performed really well, even under stressful conditions. I now have the D7100, but I also have an Olympus Micro 4/3, and love the variety of old lenses I can attach to it from any era. You should really see my collection πŸ™‚ I assume it’s the 50mm 1.8 G or D? I have the D and love the character of that lens. I mean, most 50mm primes are good performers with little distortion or aberration. Nikon’s is an excellent one. I’m not too hung up on technicalities like sharpness though. As you know, there’s much more to a good image than that! So, your Hassies would be Medium format? Anytime Natasha πŸ™‚
        Wow, that’s early! It’s just past 2pm here in South Australia; the other side of the planet!

      4. It is a G! Yes, they are. I had my studio class yesterday though and found out that we will be using Canon 5D Mark 3s?? I think? If I remember right. I am not too familiar with Canons, so not sure if I got the name right. Australia!! Wow!!! I have always wanted to visit but i heard about your spiders!!!

      5. Ahh…the new 50mm then πŸ™‚ Haha…here’s a story for you then: We looked out of the window the other day and saw what I thought was a gigantic spider ( I kid you not…bird sized) climbing up the brick wall. On a second look, realised it was a wasp carrying a very large bnlack spider to its next and struggling with the weight! Went outside and made some video of it if you want to see πŸ™‚

  9. We have a daughter, at university in France, who is a keen photographer and a dog, who is a bit shy of the lens, yet can be caught off guard. I take lots of photos but they’re not good enough to stand scrutiny on the blog. Yours are, keep taking them.

    1. I wish I could be at University in France!! Good luck to her! All the dogs I love are all back home in the US unfortunately. I do not think your photos would be judged hardly at all! Either way, love just your posts. Thanks! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

